I WANT A PRINCE!

Honest confession:  I find the whole concept of being ‘in a relationship’ awkward and confusing.

Never in real life, have I crossed path with a guy and thought ‘Maybe I’ll marry him’ or ‘I think I like him.’ And I’m absolutely okay with it!

Don’t get me wrong. I’m not one of those romantically handicapped girls. No. I just choose to waste all my feelings on book characters (who are fictional and mostly dead) and movie stars (who are usually married and decades older than me). I have a serious condition called Romantic Bipolar Syndrome. One day I wake up wanting to be an independent princess who saves herself and then the next day I go stalk facebook pages of all my celebrity crushes out there.

Also, Disney has corrupted me.

Okay! There! I said it. I still can’t relate to real life relationships because my ideal love story involves a prince in a white sassy horse, who is willing to climb up the tallest of the tallest towers, fights dragons and conquers the heart of the lost princess with a beautiful song that has the words ‘happily’  or  ‘ever-after’ in it. (It is also mandatory that he says the words ‘Always’ somewhere in the middle of that song, to stir my fandom feelings.)

See? See what I’m talking about?

I have a problem.

Even Disney seems to be evolving. With stories like Maleficent and Frozen they are starting to say that act of true love does not really have to come from a guy. But here I am, trying to figure out why princes don’t exist in real life and singing the soliloquy ‘When…will my life begin?’

In all honestly, it’s not just me. ALL girls want a prince, whether they admit to it or not. And if you are guy in a relationship reading this, give yourself a pat in the back; because some girl out there just saw that you could be her prince and if that is not a compliment, then I don’t know what is.

And you better treat her like a princess mister! I’m sorry, but if she’s spending the rest of her life with you, should her standards not be high? You can judge me, go ahead, but I’m done pretending.  I’ve always wanted a prince. And so does your mom, so does your sister, so does your niece and so does your girlfriend. No matter how different she claims she is, deep down, a girl always wants a prince, and it’s not a bad thing. Also, bro, your future daughter will want a prince too. DEAL WITH IT.

If you are a single girl (like me) reading this, give yourself a pat in the back too, because sweetheart you have something that not everyone has: Standards.

And extremely high mental power and resolution that you want to get only the best out of life and you are not willing to settle for anything less. These set of values are enough to make you a princess at heart and you definitely deserve a prince. ONLY a  prince. Though it might seem a little tough, let me assure you, your prince is definitely out there. He’s probably stuck in the traffic of destiny or with the wrong girl or worse still, in that damned friend zone you have imprisoned him in. This is not an accusation. I’m like that too. And girl, here’s what we are going to do together while we wait: We’ll go watch Cinderella all over again. Does that sound like a plan?

Smolderish Smile and a Wink,

Bala.

6 Comments

  1. Very nicely written. And I accept what you have said about your Prince being held up in a traffic jam, or something… It’s better to wait for The Prince, than lower your standards. Happy Hunting!

  2. We’ve all been raised watching television to believe that one day we’d all be millionaires, and marry a Prince and live happily ever after. But we won’t.There`s a subtle difference in what we long for, what we settle for, and what we are meant for…They are never ever the same! ironically,the guy who climbed the tower had a talking donkey and was an ogre and it made more sense!! Try Marvel,conventional than Disney and it lends you some perspective.

Leave a Reply

