Writing A Novel In A Month – Camp NaNoWriMo April 2015

Camp-Participant-2015-Web-Banner

The April Session Of Camp NaNoWriMo is here and I am participating!

I’ve never participated in NaNoWriMo before, because, I never really thought that I had what it takes to finish novel. Short stories were my comfort zone, and I was extremely comfortable with finishing a story in one sitting.

A novel, can be a very very very huge commitment. It’s like a long term relationship. You are married to your novel.  That’s just it.  You live, you breathe, you dream and you just immerse yourself in your story.

2015, however, started off with a bang.

I now know that, despite being extremely comfortable with short stories, I can make an average attempt at novel writing.  Why the sudden change of heart you ask? It’s because I’ve the first draft of the novel I started early this year, ready. It took me about three months to finish it. I know that most of it is just word vomit and that it needs lots of editing, but I FINISHED.

And I cannot tell you how accomplished that makes me feel.

Camp NaNoWriMo, promises the same. I can’t wait to experience the rush and thrill of Finishing a novel again.

For the first time ever, I’ll be joining the NaNoWriMo community.

And to be honest, I already regret this decision, because I have my finals coming up the end of this month. But that’s where Camp NaNoWriMo comes to my rescue.

If you are that person, who has always wanted to write a Novel, but never had the commitment and spirit to do so, I strongly suggest you give Camp NaNoWriMo a try.

Unlike the conventional ‘Write a 50k Manuscript’ campaign they have every November,  the Camp NaNoWriMo lets YOU set a word count. Yes, you can set your own word count, ranging anywhere between 10,000 to 999,9999.

This is such great news to newbies who have always wanted to write a novel, but things never fell into place for them.

And if you are one such newbie, you can use Camp NaNoWriMo to outline your novel, finish your old one that needs a little more words to go, or you can use it as a Prep for your future novel.

The best thing about NaNoWriMo is the spirit it brings along with it. It gets you started. It gets you writing. It teaches you discipline.

So, if you don’t feel you’re in the mood yet, don’t worry! I’ll help you out. I will be posting peps, survival tips and my experience with the Camp NaNoWriMo regularly, right here, on my blog, starting from tomorrow, all through this month. I’m not sure if I have the qualifications to do so, but I know what it takes to embrace the blank paper, and put word after word after word to make a story.

It will be difficult, but it will be so worth it.

God knows you can’t write a good book in a month. But you sure can start one.

See You There, Bala.

Link to Camp NaNoWriMo Site: https://campnanowrimo.org/

Leave a Reply

