Day 63 [BoB] The Nerve To Fail.

I know I haven’t written anything in a while here, but better late than never, right?

The only update I have for my novel is that there is no update yet. The four weeks’ time that the agent has asked for isn’t over yet, so I thought I’d write something inspirational today.

I’ve got a few stacks of freshly printed copies of my final draft sitting on my desk right now. It’s early morning, and quite a beautiful day. And why not spread some positivity today? I know I need a dose of Love and Optimism today.

If someone asked me what my two greatest weaknesses are, I’d say that I struggle with forgiveness and that sometimes, I let my stupid lion pride stop me from doing something that’s potentially good for my career  or approaching someone who can perhaps help me.

I hate asking for help.

Because I always thought voicing out my weaknesses did not make me brave enough. And if there was one virtue that I value the most in life, it’s courage.

A lot of people in the world have taught me that crying, asking for help and showing that one was not all right, was a sign of weakness. Some even saw it as a failure.

Right now, I feel like it’s the exact opposite.

Asking for help is an unmistakable sign of bravery.

It would be very much easy to keep quiet. But to voice that one was feeling weak, to voice that there was something wrong  and to ask ‘Will you help me?’ to someone who cared, that is the harder thing to do.

It’s also the braver thing to do.

Are you someone who always has a brilliant idea that you personally love, and think is totally genius, but you’re just too scared and shy to share it with people who could probably help you make your idea a reality, but you don’t approach them because deep down, you’re just terrified that they’re going to tell you your idea was silly and that it wasn’t worth putting any effort ?

Are you that person who has a couple of short stories, about 30k of a novel manuscript,  a few short film scripts, ideas for a YouTube Video, all sitting idle on your computer, in a hidden folder, doing absolutely nothing?

Well, I was too.

To be honest, I still am.

I’d rather struggle and fall down a million times than ask someone for help and have a comfortable journey. Although that sounds quite cinematic and heroic, it’s not the right thing to do.

There are people around us.

We never know who’d need our stories and who can make our dreams a lot more achievable.

We need to talk.

We need to tell the world that we have an idea, that could possibly make a difference in someone else’s life.

Ideas won’t be heard until they are declared, strong and loud, to the world.

And what’s the worse that could probably happen?

They’ll probably tell you they are not interested, and that’s when you find someone else. Trust me, as a struggling author, I can only tell you that rejections make you fall in love with your dreams only harder.

If there’s an idea in your head, it deserves to be let out.

XOXO,
Bala.

To follow the author on Facebook. Click Here. 

To Follow the author on Twitter, Click Here.

6 Comments

  1. BRAVO! The more they reject, the more you, deep down, love your baby. And you have rightly said. “We need to talk.” is what starts it all. It is fine if the whole wold is your soulmate or a soul-brother or a soul-sister who, even without you saying it in words, would understand that something is buried deep inside you and needs to be talked about. But that’s not how world works. So you need to talk to people and share your ideas. Asking for help is the brave thing. And knowing that you would be frowned upon after sharing the idea with them, and still sharing, is the bravest thing to do. You never know when the frown turns in to “Oh yeah, that’s a brilliant idea. Let’s do something with it”.
    Good luck with everything Bala. Write more often here. 🙂

  2. Come on, we have seen the pics of Laavanya and Tridev on the covers, haven’t we….They are just re-organizing themselves a bit….it is taking time but a grand entry always takes time, you know! The only thing we now need to wait for is the smell of fresh pages, as we unpack them – one by one.. 🙂

  3. Bala, I’ve nominated you for a Quote Challenge on my blog. It’s my recent post. Check it out 😉

Leave a Reply

