Happy Birthday, Heartstrings!!

Heart Strings

Yesterday, November 17, 2015, turned out to be the first birthday of my first baby.

And just like the birthdays of everyone else in my life, I forgot about it and missed the occasion.

 

Happy Birthday, Heartstrings!!

 

I love you, and you’re the best thing that has ever happened to me so far. You empowered me. I never knew what I was capable of until you came along. When there was absolutely nothing for me to cling on to, and when all the hope that I had was starting to fade away, you arrived. You made me believe in myself and I am ever so thankful to all the wonderful things they’ve happened in my life because of you. I’ve got this tag – ‘Writer’ because of you. I keep working hard and push myself over my limits to keep writing – because of you.

 

Heartstrings, I know I keep saying this over and over again, you were not just my first book, and you were my first baby.

 

I cannot believe it’s been a year.

I’ve both matured and broken during my first year as an author. I’m not going to lie. It’s been a struggle – still is. I still haven’t found a way to live the life I wanted to live with you yet. Doubt, fear and dejection creep in occasionally, chopping my spirit to tiny pieces, but I keep pulling myself together. I keep believing.  I keep working, never giving up and ever so adamant that I’ll one day live the dream I’m already living in my head.

I’ve written a full-fledged novel ever since you were born and ten other short stories. (Yeaaayyy!! You’re a big sister now!) And I’m currently working on two other novels both of which I am sure I’ll finish by the end of this year.

Let me honest, I am not done with you yet. I am aching to see you in print. I think about it every night before going to bed and every morning when I wake up and every afternoon, whilst in the middle of so much work. It would mean the world to me, if only I can see that all this hard work and all this wishful hoping for a happy ending doesn’t end in nothing.

I liked the Ebook experience, it was quick, independent and easy. But still – I wish Krishna would show me or simply give me one chance, a miracle perhaps to get you on print, before it’s too late. I want to touch you and feel the warmth of your leaves. I want to hold close against my chest and let a few drops of tears escape. I want to kiss the pages, and smell the scent of freshly printed paper and run my hands over the stories I’ve inked into you. I want to hug you and cuddle you as I silently go to sleep – as a happy and content girl. Seeing you in print is the only thing that can lift my mood right now, darling. My life would be absolutely meaningless if it ends without you.

I usually never ask Krishna anything, I just give him my love.

But if I did see a shooting star, blew out a candle, or if I shedded an eyelash, you’re the only wish I’d forever keep wishing for.

Could it be really that hard and too much to ask for?

I do not know.

But we’ll get through this with courage and determination. The tears cannot fall forever. The door cannot remain closed for ever. We’ll find a way. I promise.

Love,

The Woman Who Gave Birth to You.

 

 

**

Q&A

To mark the occasion, and as a token of thanks to the love and support I’ve received from all of you wonderful readers and followers, I’ve complied a bunch of Questions and Answers, just so that you get to know me better  🙂

  1. Where Do You Write?

My most favorite writing spot used to be the VLSI lab at My UG College.

The spot I took was right next to the window, and it had a scenic view. Now that I’m out of college, I miss it so much.

Currently, I like writing at the Central Library in NIT, Trichy or in the terrace of Opal.

When I’m home, I write in the living room, next the window.

 

  1. A quote worthy line from Your Manuscript.

‘Guilt is wasted energy. So is regret. There’s no time for that. It’ll just drain you quickly.’

 

  1. What you drink when you write.

Tea AND coffee.

(I swear, I don’t have a favourite among the two. I love both of them equally. I’m a hybrid. I call myself a Teafee drinker :p )

  1. Distraction Of Choice:

YouTube.

  1. Inspirational Quote:

‘If thou wants it, thou shall have it.’

-Me.

  1. Morning habit:

My mornings are complicated. Not that I’m not a morning person or something. Waking up is not the challenge for me. Tying the tangled mess of my hair into a comfortably tight bun, and getting enough caffeine into my bloodstream, is.

So my morning routine consists of pulling my hair up, and getting a cup of coffee.

  1. Your Computer:

A very modest laptop PC.

  1. Neglected Project

None.

If I ever get a spark or an idea for a novel, I start working on it IMMEDIATELY.

 

  1. Writing Necessity :   Coffee/Tea. A journal&Pen/Computer. The mood.

 

  1. Your Published Work(s)

One eBook. Heartstrings – A collection of short stories.

 

  1. A Good Way to relax.

Sleeping.

  1. Your writing hero:

Danielle Steele.

She’s my ultimate inspiration.

I mean, if this woman can manage to write 113 novels, while raising NINE children, what’s your excuse?

  1. A Good Way to get out of Writer’s block:

Song lyrics. Instagram. Tumblr. People Watching.

 

  1. What do you eat while writing:

Ha.

Ha Ha.

Ha Ha Ha.

For me, eating properly, is a challenge in itself, forget while writing!

I struggle with food.For example, once I was left alone at home, adn I started working on my novel, and I went on writing – the whole day with nothing but coffee to fill me up.

My eating disorders have taken me to certain complicated phases of life.

My parents are worried, but I’m changing things and trying to take my health seriously. I mean, if I got world famous, I got eat properly and be healthy to go on a world tour, right?

So…..next Question :p

 

  1. Most favourite sentence or para ever written:

“At the end of the day, we’re all looking for someone who just gets it.

Someone who understands and is always in sync with us. Someone who can tell us that certain decisions that we made were crap, straight to our face.  Someone who can know all your deepest, darkest (and dirtiest) secrets, and still not judge you. Someone who already knows everything.  And no, you don’t have to be romantically inclined towards that person. The Bala that Michael knows is the truest version of Bala.”

This will forever be the most favorite line I’ve written and the good news is that this story is being transformed into a novel currently.

Read the Short Story it appears in here.

 

  1. What your inner critic looks like.

Hermione Jean Granger.

Not Emma Watson, but HERMOINE GRANGER.

I don’t know why, but for some strange reason, whenever I’m re-reading my manuscript or editing, a voice that sounds and thinks like Hermione pops up in my mind.

For example.

*At a badly written phrase* Honestly, what were you even thinking?

*At a typo* What An Idiot.

*At an embarrassing grammatical error* Excuse me, I have to go and vomit.

P.S: If you got my HP reference and read that in her voice too, we can be friends ❤

  1. Writing Playlist

None. Of late, I’ve found that listening to music only distracts me from the actual writing part.

Although I do listen to Taylor Swift and A.R.Rahaman’s songs from the nineties, when I’m writing a short story, or when I’m taking a break from the novel.

But I find a lot of inspiration in music. I listen to songs BEFORE writing. Not during.

  1. Writing Community

I think I’m the most blessed when it comes to having such a closely knit writing community. Ours is a group called cocktail. There’s eight of us in it and I will not disclose any more details because it’s top secret and for members only.

 

  1. Best Writing advice:

Remember that professional writers are amateurs who didn’t quit.

  1. Writing Life Update

I’m currently working on 2 novels, one script for a feature film and another novellete that I’m planning to publish as an Ebook.

[Any other questions you can ask me through my facebook or twitter, I’d love answering them!!]

To follow the author on Facebook. Click Here. 

To Follow the author on Twitter, Click Here.

Buy my e-Book here:
http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00PP8PC9G

2 Comments

  1. First of all, HAPPY BIRTHDAY!! ❤ ❤ to the beautiful daughter of my twin separated at birth. The daughter I had the honour of knowing before she saw the world. I still feel so overwhelmed you considered me as a capable editor, Bala, I'll never forget those cherished memories of meeting your baby for the first time ❤ Though the fact I haven't seen you, my soul sister, in like, what FOUR ( O_o ) years makes me cringe in sadness and want to head over to NIT immediately to hold you close, I know you can feel my hugs and kisses all the way there, sweetheart 🙂 I'm so proud of you, Bala. You're a PUBLISHED AUTHOR! 😍😍💋💋 That is just foreshadowing the bright future that is ahead of you. Krishna is always there, so don't you worry about how things are going. What's life without a little walking painfully into walls headfirst and walking on a pedestal head high? 😉
    And now, coming to the questions and answers up there … I honestly haven't a clue whether it's freaky, or exciting, or both combined that We. Are. Carbon. Copies. The moment I read each question, an answer sprang to my mind, as if I was the one writing this, and I was giggling when yours matched mine. Just leave out the part about needing coffee for intuition and the rest is this insane girl's thoughts too 😉 Including listening to Taylor Swift for constructing a scene or having someone in the back of my mind to kick my butt when I write something obscene.
    I should seriously come to Trichy soon XD I need someone to share this Writer's Wacko with. Someone who quite clearly shares the same insane joy of creating worlds ❤

Leave a Reply

